Recipe Monday: Gougères

2 Jan

You may be saying to yourself WHAT THE HELL IS A GOUGÈRE? My thoughts exactly when I stumbled upon this post from Susan Eats London. But then I saw her picture below and I just wanted to eat them.

In case you want to know what these are (besides the obvious cheesy puffy goodness), here ya go from our friends at Wikipedia.

gougèrepronounced: [gu.ʒɛʁ], in French cuisine, is a baked savory choux pastry made of choux dough mixed with cheese. There are many variants. The cheese is commonly grated GruyèreComté, or Emmentaler,[1][2] but there are many variants using other cheeses or other ingredients.

Image: Susan Eats London

Am I right? You want to eat these, too? So here’s the deal…I’m a little intimidated by fancy recipes and French words. After reading Susan’s blog I quickly realized a few things. 1. She’s awesome, 2. She knows her way around a kitchen, and 3. She eats some amazing food. It might not be the same foods that we cook at home (see her post on cleaning squid here…wow, right? So cool!) but it was very obvious that she cooks some delicious stuff.

I decided WHAT THE HELL! It’s 2012…I’m going to make these things. And so I did.

Before you start thinking I’m a fancy cook, let me tell you that this recipe is much easier than I thought it would be. I even took a few shortcuts (don’t hate me, Susan!) and they turned out fantastic.

So…I bring you Gougères!

Melting Butter

All spiced up!

What Susan calls the "Magic Moment of Transformation"

This is what it looks like when you start adding eggs

Gougères

From Susan Eats London  (with my comments added in blue)

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup water
  • ½ cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 cup sifted flour  (I didn’t sift, but just ordered this baby)
  • ½ – 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon espelette pepper (I used black pepper)
  • Fresh nutmeg (I used ground Nutmeg)
  • 4 eggs, at room temperature
  • 120 grams, or about 4 and ½ ounces of freshly-grated Gruyère (set aside ¼ ounce for topping the gougères)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius (or 400 degrees Fahrenheit), and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. I buttered two baking sheets since I didn’t have parchment paper in the house. Only a few stuck to the pan and I used a spatula to get them off. 

Melt the butter in a saucepan, add the water, milk, salt, pepper, and a bit of grated nutmeg, and bring to a boil. Add the flour all at once and mix vigorously over medium heat to incorporate, stirring from the bottom with a wooden spoon to prevent burning. You should soon have a gooey dough that sticks to the sides and bottom of your pan. Keep mixing – there will be a moment of magic transformation when the dough stops sticking to the pan and becomes shiny and supple and ball-like. Mix for another minute or two, or until the steam rising from the pan starts to smell like baking bread. Don’t worry about the little layer of flour that adheres to the pan.

Turn your dough into a bowl and allow to rest for a few minutes. Using a wooden spoon (if you have a stand mixer, you can use that instead), beat the eggs in one by one, waiting until each egg is fully incorporated before adding the next one. Initially, after adding each egg, the dough will turn into little slippery globules. Don’t despair – again, there will be a moment of magic transformation when the dough becomes a cohesive, very sticky mess. At that point it’s time to add the next egg.

When all the eggs have been incorporated, fold in your grated cheese, and then transfer the dough to a piping bag. Pipe onto the parchment-lined baking sheets into tablespoon-sized mounds (if you don’t have a piping bag, use a spoon for this part – i did!). With a wet finger, smooth the points on the puffs and then sprinkle the reserved grated cheese over the top.

Bake for 22 minutes, or until the puffs feel airy and thoroughly dry. Remember, don’t open the oven door while baking, or your gougères won’t be as puffy! Transfer to a rack, and serve while hot.

Makes about 3 dozen gougères, or enough for six very greedy people.

These were AMAZING and a crowd pleaser. A big thank you to Susan for posting these and making the recipe so easy to understand. Can’t want to try another one of yours. 

Wishing you all a happy and healthy 2012!

10 Responses to “Recipe Monday: Gougères”

  1. Susan January 2, 2012 at 5:30 PM #

    Wow, this makes me all verklempt! First time I’ve been reblogged. Seriously, I think I just got a little misty-eyed. What a way to start 2012! Happy New Year, Boy Girl Dog! xoxo

  2. Laure January 2, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

    Your gougères looks great ! I did my first attempt at them for my birthday. They tasted good but didn’t puffed out .. I’ll try this recipe next time. I hope I’ll get more lucky ! And oh .. Bonne Année ! Happy New Year !

    • Boy Girl Dog January 2, 2012 at 5:48 PM #

      Laure – thanks so much for stopping by! Honestly, if I can make these ANYONE CAN! You should definitely try again. I’ve heard curry powder is also a great alternative to nutmeg. Think we could make this into a dessert? Happy New Year to you!

      • Laure January 3, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

        Actually it’s a Pate a choux, gougères are the salted version, you can make eclairs,cream puffs, chouquettes, Paris-Brest ( which is a favorite in my family), the thing is I failed at pate à choux the first time with Paris-Brest (which was really good too but didn’t puffed out), then first attempt at gougères (failed), i’m pretty sure third try will be the good one (at least i’m crossing fingers 😉 )

  3. frugalfeeding January 2, 2012 at 5:48 PM #

    They look absolutely fantastic!

    • Boy Girl Dog January 2, 2012 at 5:49 PM #

      Thank you, thank you! So easy thanks to Susan :).

  4. ellenzav January 3, 2012 at 7:57 AM #

    Yikes you’re brave. They look fantastic though! Way to tackle 2012…maybe it’s time I took a leap too. Thanks for showing how it’s done!

  5. Andrea @ LetLooseLittell January 12, 2012 at 6:05 PM #

    Get it girl! VERY Impressed!! And great recipe Susan … mmmmm…. on the list

    • Boy Girl Dog January 12, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

      You would love these because I’m pretty sure you love cheese as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

