Recipe Monday (er…Tuesday?): Linzer Heart Cookies

27 Dec

First, sorry I’ve sucked as a blogger lately. Busy time of the year, but one of my New Year’s resolutions is to establish a regular blogging schedule. Let’s hope this resolution lasts longer than most.

It was a tradition in my mom’s house that every holiday season we would make Linzer Heart Cookies. They are buttery goodness with raspberry preserves that just melt in your mouth and make me immediately think of the holidays. I tackled these babies for the first time all by myself for Christmas! (such a big girl!)

 Linzer Heart Cookies

Ingredients

  • 3 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups flour, sifted (can use a strainer if you don’t have a sifter)
  • 1 cup corn starch
  • 2 cups finely grated walnuts
  • Jar red raspberry preserves (I used Bonne Maman)
  • 2 heart shaped cookie cutters (1 small and 1 large or just one large to make sandwich cookies instead of being able to peek through and see the preserves)

Directions

*These are mom’s directions + some of my own commentary. Mom assumes you’re not an idiot, so no need to explain how to cream butter or mix in nuts.*

Cream butter and 1 cup sugar . Add egg and mix well. Sift together flour & cornstarch, add to butter & mix well. Mix in nuts. Form your dough into a ball and wrap in waxed paper/saran. Chill for 4-6 hours.

My cookie cutters

Take your dough out of the fridge and let sit for approximately 30 minutes, or until it is easier to manipulate. Preheat oven to 325. On a floured surface, roll out dough to ¼” & cut with your cookie cutters. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove cookies from baking sheet and immediately spread bottom cookie with red raspberry preserves. Place 2nd cookie on top and repeat. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar (or if you want them really sugary, press the top and bottom directly into the sugar).

I made mine sans walnuts because Ben’s dad can’t eat them. I just added 1/2 cup more flour and they came out great!

Hope you enjoy!

P.S. Not sure if you noticed or not from the pictures (I sure can), but I got a new camera for the holidays. Say hello to my new toy! As soon as I finish the 425 page how to book I’ll be a professional photographer (joking). Seriously though…I can’t wait to learn how to use it!

My new Canon T3i

Happy Tuesday!
9 Responses to “Recipe Monday (er…Tuesday?): Linzer Heart Cookies”

  1. Susan December 27, 2011 at 5:32 PM #

    Congratulations on the new camera! In fact, I clicked on this recipe because of the lovely photo. My new SLR changed my life (and possibly is the reason I started blogging). You’re a smashingly entertaining writer, too.

    • Boy Girl Dog December 27, 2011 at 5:34 PM #

      Hey Susan! THANK YOU!!! I’m being such a photography nerd…taking pictures of everything I can and reading like a crazy woman. How long have you had your camera? Any tips you have would be so appreciated!

      • Susan December 27, 2011 at 5:59 PM #

        I’ve had my camera for just under a year. I don’t pretend to be an expert, but I’ve learned that for food blogging, it is best to use natural rather than artificial light as much as you possibly can — it makes such a difference in terms of texture, depth, color, etc. Also, take advantage of your camera’s high pixellation to post close-ups, and keep your photos dynamic, e.g., with hands, forks, crumbs, etc. There are a few blogs I follow partly because the photos are so gorgeous they’re inspirational. http://sproutedkitchen.com/ is one; I’m also really impressed by the photos on http://thelittleloaf.wordpress.com/ Good luck!

      • Boy Girl Dog December 27, 2011 at 8:01 PM #

        Thank you, thank you. I’m going to check these out ASAP!

      • Susan December 28, 2011 at 4:31 PM #

        Also: http://www.poiresauchocolat.net/, http://www.akentishkitchen.co.uk/, http://savorysimple.net/, and http://daisyt13.wordpress.com/ all have great photography on their sites (and all so different from one another). Thanks for following me! x

      • Boy Girl Dog December 31, 2011 at 11:28 AM #

        More great ones. I think I like Daisey’s World best. Thanks so much, Susan!

  2. Cameron Adams December 27, 2011 at 6:49 PM #

    Life doesn’t get much better than Linzer cookies and a new Canon dslr : ) Happy New Year from Atlanta Street Fashion.

    • Boy Girl Dog December 27, 2011 at 10:29 PM #

      Hey Cameron! Thanks!!! Happy New Year to you, too! Hopping over to your blog now to check it out ;).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Everything « Boy Girl Dog - December 30, 2011

    […] Also on the menu was mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce and Mom’s Linzer Heart Cookies (recipe here). […]

Leave a Reply

