Recipe Monday: Turkey, Cheddar & Avocado Paninis with Salad

8 Aug

Happy Monday guys! I’m a little late on this one, but I was holding out (with crossed fingers) that tonight’s dinner would be a hit and I could blog about it. Total fail! This is the second time we’ve tried to make curry with no luck. I think we need some help from our friends over at Let Loose Littell.

Ben and I made this on Saturday night and were in food heaven after eating this one on the couch with a glass of wine (beer for Ben). Yes, we sat on the couch drinking and eating on a Saturday night…and loved every second of it

This one is easy (I mean…what do I make that’s hard?) and yummy and what more can you ask for?

Turkey, Cheddar & Avocado Paninis with Salad

Ingredients:
Enough to make 6 sandwiches

  • 1 Loaf of Fresh Baked Bread, sliced (we use whatever’s on sale at Whole Foods, but Ciabatta or Sour Dough is always a good choice)
  • 1/2 Pound Deli Turkey, thinly sliced
  • 1 Avocado, sliced
  • 12 slices of blocked Cheddar Cheese (Cabot is a MUST! Trust me…you’ll never eat Kraft again)
  • 1 Tomato, sliced
  • Pre-packaged Salad Mix (We use OrganicGirl)
  • Goddess Dressing (Annie’s or Whole Foods brand are both delish)
Directions
Heat up a panini grill or grill pan and assemble your paninis. We like to put the cheese on the bottom so it melts quickly against the heat. Our layers went like this: 2 pieces of cheese, 2-3 slices of turkey, avocado, tomato. Be sure to spray the grill plates with cooking spray so you get those neat brown marks. Throw those suckers on for a few minutes until they get said brown marks. Grab a few handfuls of salad and top with Goddess Dressing. DONEZO! THE END! Seriously…that’s it.
Edit and substitute with whatever you have in the house…that’s the beauty of paninis. You really can’t screw em up!
Enjoy!
– BGD –
2 Responses to “Recipe Monday: Turkey, Cheddar & Avocado Paninis with Salad”

  1. Jacquelyn August 9, 2011 at 2:42 PM #

    Thanks for the kind words about Cabot! It’s my favorite, of course 😉 I LOVE paninis, I can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
    ~Jacquelyn

    • Boy Girl Dog August 9, 2011 at 3:13 PM #

      Hey Jacquelyn –

      Totally my pleasure. I’ve got relatives in Vermont and I’ve been on the Cabot train since birth. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

